Sexism Documentary-Miss Understood

First off, I’d like to say that I’ve always enjoyed the above play on words. Ms. Behaved, Ms. Leading etc.. That is all.
This documentary was useful to me, as a white male viewer, because it forced me to look at women as a marginalized group. Though I consider myself to be as impartial and unbiased toward race and sex as one can be, I forget that there are somethings that are out of my hands as far as fairness goes, and some people are getting the proverbial shaft, regardless of how I am treating them. I feel that racism often overshadows sexism from a publicity standpoint, and generally, women are marginalized in an altogether different, often more oppressive way, as it’s something men of all races can agree upon. There are many races, but only two (arguably) genders. 

The image that sticks with me the most is one of Hillary Clinton delivering a stump speech, only to be interrupted by a trifling curmudgeon holding a sign/chanting “Iron my shirt”. At its most base interpretation, this showed me that no matter the position and level of authority, men can use gender to undermine women. Also, the audio clips of the myriad pundits downright verbally abusing women of power, more often than not to further their own agendas was quite eye opening. Glenn Beck would never call Herman Cain an “N-word”, but he had no trouble or repercussions in labeling Hillary or Pelosi (don’t remember which) a bitch. Verifiable proof that sexism has not been acknowledged nearly as much as racism. 
In the true spirit of Standpoint Theory, I am now slightly more capable of examining the world from the eyes of women. I have only Miss Understood to thank. Thanks, darling. You were edited silkily smooth, and I couldn’t take my eyes off of you the entire time. You’re a real doll. Toots.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

